seperatist groups in Africa


This is a list of separatist groups in Africa that are currently active. Despite the fact that independence is the primary goal of many separatist movements, separatism can encompass autonomism and secessionism. Religious, racial, socioeconomic, and cultural differences between specific peoples and the majority or ruling elite in a country sometimes lead to separatist movements. It’s often debatable what makes an autonomist or secessionist movement; entries on this list must be verified as involved, separatist, and made up of inhabitants of the country from which independence is sought.

Below is a list of African countries with currently active separatist groups/movements

  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Comoros
  • Republic of the Congo
  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • France
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

ALSO SEE – 10 of Africa’s largest companies by valuation